10th International Conference «Mystic and Esoteric movements in theory and practice: Sacred geography, Mysticism, and Esoterism», April 22–25, 2018, Stavropol, Russia

North-Caucasus Federal University (Stavropol, Russia)

Association for the Study of Esotericism and Mysticism

10th International Conference

MYSTIC AND ESOTERIC MOVEMENTS

IN THEORY AND PRACTICE:

SACRED GEOGRAPHY, MYSTICISM, AND ESOTERICISM

April 22 – 25, 2019

First Call for Papers

Sacred places — that is, places which followers of certain teachings believed possessed special qualities — historically played an important role in mystical and esoteric currents. From Stone Age caves, where tribe initiations were held, to today’s “places of power” visited by representatives of a wide array of esoteric groups, sacred places became centers around which esoteric practices congregated and where secret traditions were passed on from initiator to initiate.

The role of sacred places extends beyond particular sacred sites: for many mystic and esoteric currents, sacred geography in a wider sense — for example, an understanding of how the cosmos works, of the holy character of the cardinal directions, and so on — plays a large role in their philosophy. That philosophy, in turn, is often reflected in the architecture of temples, lodges, and other centers of mystic and esoteric traditions, and are integrated into ritual symbols and iconography of esoteric currents.

This conference aims to consider sacred geography as it is studied in history, anthropology, cultural studies, and psychology. The organizing committee will accept papers on the history of places considered to be both sacred and linked with mystical and esoteric currents, on such places’ status in contemporary culture, on psychological aspects of the influence such sites have on people, and on other topics linked to sacred geography in mystical and esoteric currents.

Sample topics include but are not limited to the following:

  • methodological and terminological problems of the scholarly study of sacred geography in the context of mysticism and esotericism;
  • sacred geography in the East;
  • sacred places in Western mystical and esoteric traditions;
  • the sacred in the structure of the cosmos and the sacred character of cardinal directions in the history of esotericism;
  • mystical and esoteric sacred geography in literature and art.

Working languages: Russian, English

Applications for the conference for participants from CIS countries are to be sent to the address of the organizing committee esoterra.asem@gmail.com by 01.02.2019.  Due to possible visa concerns, we request that applications from participants outside of the CIS are sent by 01.12.2018. We kindly request participants to provide the following information:

  1. Full name:
  2. Date of birth:
  3. Academic degree (if applicable):
  4. Home address:
  5. Place of work/study (if applicable):
  6. Position:
  7. Telephone number:
  8. E-mail:
  9. Need of an official invitation to receive an entry visa to the Russian Federation (yes/no):
  10. Necessary equipment for your presentation (yes (specify)/no):
  11. Title of paper:
  12. Abstract:
  13. Language of paper:

For Russian-speaking participants, entries 1, 2, 5, 6, 11, 12 need to be filled out both in Russian and English. The applicant is also required to attach a photo of themselves, no more than 1Mb in size.

Applications for panels are accepted until 01.02.2019. Panel applications need to follow the general application form outlined above. Additionally, the panel organizer needs to provide the approximate number of panel participants and a preliminary program.

A completed application does not guarantee acceptance to the conference. The organizing committee reserves the right to ask for additional information from applicants to specify unclear applications. Decisions on applications are made by the organizing committee within a week after the application deadline. Applicants will be informed of the committee’s decision by e-mail.

Remote participation in the conference is not provided for.

A conference program including information about participants and their abstracts will be published and provided to the participants before the start of the conference. It will also be available on the ASEM website.

The conference fee is differentiated according to ASEM membership and geographical location of the participant (see table below):

Conference participants ASEM members ASEM non-members
Post-Soviet countries (excepting the Baltic countries) 500 roubles 1000 roubles
Residents of non-Post-Soviet countries 10 Euros 30 Euros

The organizational fee will be used to cover the costs of organizing the conference as well as the publication of conference papers, which is planned after the conference takes place. The collected conference materials will include papers that have been presented at the conference and accepted for publication up to 20 000 characters in length. The conference fee is paid at the time of registration.

The organizational fee does not include transportation, lodging, food or possible additional services (tours, museums, and so on). The organizing committee does not provide lodging for conference participants; however, it will provide information on local options at the request of an accepted participant.

The organizing committee is open to propositions of material and informational support from interested physical and legal persons.

Conference address: Stavropol (Russia), North-Caucasus Federal University. All inquiries about the conference are directed to: esoterra.asem@gmail.com.

Organizing committee:

Organizing committee chair: Sergey V. Pakhomov

Organizing committee members: Yuri Y. Zavhorodniy, Roman V. Nutrikhin, Stanislav A. Panin, Birgit Menzel, Yuri F. Rodichenkov, Evgeni L. Kuzmishin

Download annonce: pdf.

Х Международная конференция «Мистико-эзотерические движения в теории и практике: сакральная география, мистицизм и эзотеризм», 22–25.04.2018, Ставрополь

Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет (Ставрополь)

Ассоциация исследователей эзотеризма и мистицизма 

Х Международная конференция

Мистико-эзотерические движения

в теории и практике:

сакральная география, мистицизм и эзотеризм

22 – 25.04.2019

Первое информационное сообщение

Священные места, наделенные, по мнению последователей тех или иных учений, особыми качествами, исторически играли значимую роль в мистико-эзотерических движениях. От пещер каменного века, предназначенных для племенных инициаций, до современных «мест силы», на которые приходят последователи различных эзотерических групп, подобные места становились центрами, вокруг которых выстраивались эзотерические практики и в которых передавались тайные учения.

Помимо конкретных священных мест, большую роль в мистико-эзотерических движениях играет сакральная география в более широком смысле: представления об устройстве космоса, священном характере сторон света и т.д. Представления о священном космосе, в свою очередь, нередко отражаются в устройстве храмов, лож и других центров мистико-эзотерических традиций, интегрируются в символику ритуалов и иконографию эзотерических учений.

Целью настоящей конференции является рассмотрение сакральной географии в ее историческом, антропологическом, культурологическом и психологическом измерениях. Оргкомитет принимает доклады, посвященные истории тех или иных мест, считающихся священными и связанных с мистико-эзотерическими практиками и учениями, их статусу в современной культуре, психологическим аспектам изучения влияния подобных мест на человека и другим темам, связанным с сакральной географией в мистико-эзотерических движений.

Примерная рубрикация тематики:

  • методологические и терминологические проблемы научного изучения священных мест в контексте мистицизма и эзотеризма;
  • сакральная география стран Востока;
  • священные места в мистико-эзотерических традициях Запада;
  • священный характер космоса и стран света в истории эзотеризма;
  • мистико-эзотерический срез сакральной географии в художественной литературе

Рабочие языки конференции: русский, английский.

Заявка на участие для русскоязычных участников конференции подается по адресу: esoterra.asem@gmail.com до 01.02.2019. Для англоязычных участников (но не из стран бывшего СССР, кроме стран Балтии) – до 01.12.2018. Заявка заполняется по следующей форме:

  1. ФИО:
  2. дата рождения:
  3. ученая степень и ученое звание (если есть):
  4. домашний адрес:
  5. место работы / учебы (если есть):
  6. должность (для работающих):
  7. контактный телефон:
  8. электронный адрес:
  9. необходимость официального приглашения от Оргкомитета (да / нет):
  10. необходимость технического оборудования для презентации доклада (да – указать, какое именно / нет)
  11. тема доклада:
  12. резюме доклада (200 – 300 слов):
  13. указать, на каком языке будет зачитываться доклад:

Пункты 1, 2, 5, 6, 11, 12 необходимо заполнить также и на английском языке. Заявителю также необходимо приложить к заявке свою фотографию объемом до 1 Мб.

До 01.02.2019 принимаются и заявки на организацию круглых столов. Подобные заявки должны быть заполнены по той же форме, что и заявки на участие в конференции. Кроме того, организатору круглого стола следует указать примерное количество участников стола и предложить его предполагаемую программу.

Отправка заявки и текста не означает автоматического включения доклада в программу конференции. Оргкомитет оставляет за собой право запросить дополнительные материалы от заявителя в целях уточнения некоторых параметров заявки. Решение по полученной заявке выносится Оргкомитетом в течение недели после окончания срока ее представления и сообщается заявителям по электронной почте.

Заочное участие в конференции не предусмотрено.

К началу конференции планируется выпустить и распределить среди авторов докладов программу, содержащую данные об участниках и резюме их докладов. Программа, включая резюме докладов, будет также размещена на сайте АИЭМ в свободном доступе.

Размер организационного взноса устанавливается следующим образом (см. таблицу):

Участники конференции

Члены АИЭМ Не члены АИЭМ
Резиденты постсоветских стран (кроме стран Балтии) 500 руб. 1000 руб.
Резиденты не из постсоветских стран 10 евро 30 евро

Организационный взнос участника используется для покрытия расходов на организацию и проведение конференции, а также при подготовке к изданию сборника материалов конференции, который планируется издать уже после мероприятия. В сборник материалов конференции будут включены тексты принятых к публикации докладов, оформленные впоследствии в виде статей объемом до 20.000 знаков. Взнос уплачивается при регистрации.

В организационный взнос участника не включены его транспортные расходы, оплата проживания и питания, возможные дополнительные услуги (экскурсии, посещение музеев и т.п.). Оргкомитет не занимается расселением участников конференции, однако может помочь в информировании по вопросам поселения принятого заявителя при соответствующем запросе с его стороны.

Оргкомитет внимательно рассмотрит предложения заинтересованных физических и юридических лиц, касающиеся материальной и информационной поддержки конференции.

Адрес проведения: Ставрополь, Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет

Справки по адресу: esoterra.asem@gmail.com.

Оргкомитет конференции:

Председатель: к.ф.н. С. В. Пахомов

Члены оргкомитета: д.ф.н. Ю. Ю. Завгородний, к.ю.н. Р. В. Нутрихин,

к.ф.н. С. А. Панин, Dr. Prof. Б. Менцель,

к.ф.н. Ю. Ф. Родиченков, к.и.н. Е. Л. Кузьмишин

Скачать анонс: pdf.